Newspaper Article Archive of
The Kalona News
Kalona, Iowa

Newspaper Article Archive of
The Kalona News

August 10, 2017 IMS camp honors top basketball players
Article Pages -- as published on the The Kalona News website.

Thumb Image
Thumb Image
Thumb Image
Thumb Image
Thumb Image
Thumb Image


Iowa Mennonite School Athletic Director and basketball coach Dwight Gingerich announced awards for the IMS Basketball Camp.

Gingerich was assisted in running the camp by Aaron Gingerich, Randy Miller, Eli Gingerich, Nick Yutzy and Caleb Gingerich.

Iowa Mennonite players helped as demonstrators and officials. They are: Reggie Borntrager, Cole Ours, Mitchell Schmieder, Cody Jones, Trevor Leyden and Jeremy Niemeyer.

The camp for players entering grades 5 through 10 ran July 24-27 with the older boys in the morning and the younger boys in the afternoon.

In June, Gingerich ran camps for students entering grades 1 through 4.

Farmers Supply Sales and Hills Bank sponsored the camps again this year.

Campers honored with awards were:

Grade 10

One on One: Chris Miller

HORSE: Brody Miller

Free Throw: Logan Stutzman

Spot Shooting: Drew Blauvelt

Best Defender: Jacob Nonnenmann

Mr. Hustle: Drew Blauvelt

Best Rebounder: Logan Harmsen

Outstanding Camper: Kobe Borntrager

Mr. Fundamental: Chris Miller

Grade 9

One on One: Wilx Witthoff

HORSE: Andre Miller

Free Throw: John Hughes

Spot Shooting: Carson Huedepohl

Best Defender: Ben Cooper

Mr. Hustle: Wilx Witthoff

Best Rebounder: London Schrock

Outstanding Camper: Andre Miller

Mr. Fundamental: Eli Ours

Grade 8

One on One: Kasen Bailey

HORSE: Kasen Bailey

Free Throw: Carter Harmsen

Spot Shooting: Kasen Bailey

Best Defender: Jacob Miller

Mr. Hustle: Will Cavanagh

Best Rebounder: Lance Sobaski

Outstanding Camper: Carter Harmsen

Mr. Fundamental: Kasen Bailey

Grade 7

One on One: Madox Doehrmann

HORSE: Madox Doehrmann

Free Throw: Drew Horak

Spot Shooting: Alex Bean

Best Defender: Dallon Whitehill

Mr. Hustle: Jace Rempel

Best Rebounder: Cody Graber

Outstanding Camper: Alex Bean

Mr. Fundamental: Madox Doehrmann

Grade 6

One on One: Holden Arnaman:

HORSE: Mason James

Free Throw: Holden Arnaman

Spot Shooting: Holden Arnaman

Best Rebounder: Braden Plotz

Outstanding Camper: Brock Harland

Mr. Fundamental: Holden Arnaman

Grade 5

One on One: Landry Gingerich

HORSE: Landry Gingerich

Free Throw: Landon Kos

Spot Shooting: Noah Rhodes

Best Defender: Landry Gingerich

Best Rebounder: Landon Kos

Mr. Fundamental: Ace Peck

Newspaper Article Archive of The Kalona News produced by SmallTownPapers, Inc.
Website © 2018. All content copyrighted. Copyright Information.     Terms Of Use.     Request Content Removal.