Newspaper Article Archive of
The Kalona News
Kalona, Iowa

Newspaper Article Archive of
The Kalona News

June 14, 2018 Tyler, Jeppson earn track coach of the year honors
Article Pages -- as published on the The Kalona News website.

Thumb Image
Thumb Image
Thumb Image

Mid-Prairie girls track coach Chris Tyler and boys track coach Dain Jeppson picked up some honors this week from the Iowa Association of Track Coaches.

Tyler was named the Class 2A girls statewide coach of the year. The Mid-Prairie girls track team won the 2018 Class 2A team title with 60 points.

Tyler became the Mid-Prairie girls head track coach during the 2010 season. During his time as head coach the Golden Hawks have won the first team title in school history. They were runner-up in 2017 and eighth in 2010. Mid-Prairie has scored points at the state track meet in all but one year during Tyler’s time as head coach.

The at-large coaches of the year for Class 2A were Steve Kalous of Sumner-Fredericksburg, Greg Thompson of Panorama, Scott Breyfogle and Gaige Gill of MVAOCOU, Eric Hjelle of Underwood and Mark Kauk of Unity Christian.

Jeppson was named a Class 2A boys at-large coach of the year for coaching the Golden Hawks to a runner-up finish in Class 2A. Jeppson is in his second year as head track coach for Mid-Prairie.

Under his watch, Mid-Prairie placed 15th in 2017 and runner-up in 2018.

The statewide 2A coach of year was Pekin’s Davis Eidahl. The other Class 2A at-large coaches of the year were Brian Case of South Central Calhoun, Keith Henderson of Carroll Kuemper, Kyle Zankowski of Sheldon and Brian Borrison of Mediapolis.

Newspaper Article Archive of The Kalona News produced by SmallTownPapers, Inc.
Website © 2019. All content copyrighted. Copyright Information.     Terms Of Use.     Request Content Removal.