Newspaper Article Archive of
The Kalona News
Kalona, Iowa

Newspaper Article Archive of
The Kalona News

June 4, 2018 Ten area athletes named to All-SEISC soccer teams
Article Pages -- as published on the The Kalona News website.

Thumb Image
Thumb Image
Thumb Image
Thumb Image
Thumb Image
Thumb Image
Thumb Image

Six players from Iowa Mennonite and four from Highland have been named to the All-Conference teams in the Southeast Iowa Super Conference.

Iowa Mennonite’s Isaiah Swantz and Cole Ours were named to the first team. Swantz scored 12 goals and had nine assists this season. He’s put up a team-high 44 shots on goal. Ours has scored 15 goals and added a team-high 11 assists.

Iowa Mennonite coach Marcus Miller was named SEISC coach of the year.

On the second team, Iowa Mennonite’s Mitchell Schmieder and Blake Bontrager were named alongside Highland’s Jordan Sosa and Cullen Klebe.

Schmieder played a big part in Iowa Mennonite’s defensive line that allowed less than one goal per game this season. Bontrager, the Iowa Mennonite goalkeeper, allowed 12 goals and had 66 saves on the season. He allowed only 0.71 goals per game. Bontrager saved a penalty kick against No. 1 Regina that allowed Iowa Mennonite to go on and win the game.

Sosa was Highland’s leading scorer with four goals. Cullen Klebe, a senior for Highland, played on the defensive side for the Huskies.

Iowa Mennonite had Reggie Borntrager and Louis Etienne named to the honorable mention squad. Borntrager was another key piece on the Iowa Mennonite defense, while Etienne was a spark for Iowa Mennonite on the offensive end. He scored a team-high 17 goals and assisted on two.

Highland had Cristian Arciga and Cory Stewart named to the honorable mention team. Arciga scored two goals and had one assist on six shots this year. He scored one of his on a penalty kick. Stewart, who filled in at goalkeeper for Highland after an injury, tallied 96 saves on the year.

Iowa Mennonite currently has an 18-1 record and has qualified for the state tournament.

Highland finished out their season last week with an 1-11 record.

First Team All-SEISC

Felix Solis, Columbus

Kevin Rodriquez, Columbus

Sawyer Foster, Danville

Brandon Kincaid, Central Lee

Skylar Schau, Central Lee

Nathan Hine, Mediapolis

Hector Zepeda, Wapello

Jakob Anderson, Notre Dame

Sturgis Thorton, Notre Dame

Slater Gifford, Notre Dame

Adam Rauenbuehler, Holy Trinity

Isaiah Swantz, Iowa Mennonite

Cole Ours Iowa Mennonite

Coach of the year: Marcus Miller

Second Team All-SEISC

B.J. Rodgers, Columbus

Avery Heston, Danville

Brady Hall, Danville

Kacey Davis, Central Lee

Trevor Petty, Central Lee

Shane Yaley, Mediapolis

Christopher Ewart, Wapello

Juan Barbosa, Notre Dame

Jordan Sosa, Highland

Cullen Klebe, Highland

Alec Mehmert, Holy Trinity

Aden Alfred, Holy Trinity

Mitchell Schmieder, Iowa Mennonite

Blake Bontrager, Iowa Mennonite

Honorable Mention

Angel Hernandez, Columbus

Triston Kouffaman, Columbus

Elijah Svoboda, Danville

Levi Svoboda, Danville

Adam Boeck, Central Lee

Logan Sanders, Central Lee

Drake Coates, Mediapolis

Kameron Meller, Mediapolis,

Jacob Ewart, Wapello

Jackson Weyrick, Wapello

Zakk Getz, Notre Dame

T.J. Schramm Notre Dame

Cristian Arciga, Highland

Cory Stewart, Highland

Reggie Borntrager, Iowa Mennonite

Louis Etienne, Iowa Mennonite

Ben Abolt, Holy Trinity

Andrae Vincent, Holy Trinity

Newspaper Article Archive of The Kalona News produced by SmallTownPapers, Inc.
Website © 2019. All content copyrighted. Copyright Information.     Terms Of Use.     Request Content Removal.