Newspaper Article Archive of
The Kalona News
Kalona, Iowa

Newspaper Article Archive of
The Kalona News

November 7, 2018 Mid-Prairie lands eight on All-District teams
Article Pages -- as published on the The Kalona News website.

Thumb Image
Thumb Image
Thumb Image
Thumb Image
Thumb Image
Article Images -- images associated with the article, when available.

Thumb Image
Thumb Image
Thumb Image
Thumb Image

Eight Golden Hawks were honored by the Class 2A District 6 coaches after All-District voting.

First-team selections included running back Justin Schwartz, offensive tackle Chaz Patterson and defensive back Grant Boyse.

Schwartz rushed for 1,015 yards and 12 touchdowns on 200 carries. The workhorse running back for Mid-Prairie had five games with at least 20 rushes. Schwartz also became the Mid-Prairie career leader in receptions this season.

Patterson captained an offensive line that helped rush for 1,708 yards and 23 touchdowns.

Boyse was selected as a first-team defensive back and led Mid-Prairie in total tackles with 55.5 tackles. The majority of his tackles were solo, with 47 solo tackles and 17 assists. He had one tackle for loss. Boyse also led the Golden Hawks with two interceptions on the season.

Second-team selections for Mid-Prairie were all lineman, including defensive end Jack Baker, defensive tackle Josh Wallington and offensive lineman Isaac Boucher. Wallington finished the season with two sacks to lead the Golden Hawks. Baker had 42.5 total tackles, 4.5 tackles for loss and intercepted a pass. Boucher started at center for the Golden Hawks.

Honorable mention nods were given to Rex Peck, the Mid-Prairie fullback and quarterback Brad Tornow. Peck scored twice on seven carries this season. Tornow was 58-138 for 816 yards through the air, throwing for five touchdowns and eight interceptions.

Mid-Prairie finished the year with a 3-6 record, winning their final three games after starting the year 0-6.

Class 2A District 6

All-District team

First team offense

Quarterback, Jordan Martin, Williamsburg, senior

Running Back, Gage Hazen-Fabor, Williamsburg, senior

Running Back, Justin Schwartz, Mid-Prairie, senior

Receiver, Wyatt Klyn, Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fremont, senior

Receiver, Nick Goodell, Williamsburg, senior

Receiver, Nathan Crall, Albia, senior

Offensive lineman, Chaz Patterson, Mid-Prairie, senior

Offensive lineman, Clayton Thurm, Williamsburg, senior

Offensive lineman, Clayton Kempf, Williamsburg, senior

Offensive lineman, Doug Flattery, Albia, junior

Offensive lineman, Brandt Hughes, Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fremont, senior

Utility, Trey Moore, Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fremont, senior

Utility, Draven Dekraai, Davis County, senior

Punter, Nate Wynn, Albia, sophomore

Kicker, Leighton Jones, Williamsburg, senior

Returner, Nate Crall, Albia, senior

Returner, Kaden Wetjen, Williamsburg, junior

First team defense

Defensive back, Grant Boyse, Mid-Prairie, senior

Defensive back, Jalen Schropp, Williamsburg, junior

Defensive back, Luke Bossard, Albia, junior

Linebacker, Chase Stutes, Central Lee, senior

Linebacker, Mathyan Powell, Williamsburg, senior

Linebacker, Beau Leshen, Albia, senior

Linebacker, Ryan Adams, Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fremont, senior

Defensive lineman, Logan Hale, Davis County, senior

Defensive lineman, Riley Holt, Williamsburg, sophomore

Defensive lineman, Dawson Hermsen, Albia, senior

Defensive lineman, Gabe Larkin, Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fremont, senior

Utility, Gage Wilson, Albia, senior

Utility, Levi Weldon, Williamsburg, sophomore

Second team

Williamsburg — Billy Grout, defensive line, junior; Tyler Wille, offensive line, senior; Garrett Jensen, wide receiver, senior; Drew Cook, offensive line, senior

Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fremont — Isaiah Smith, Wide receiver, junior; Logan McCrea, offensive Line, junior; Clay Johnston, Linebacker, senior

Albia — Gage Wilson, receiver, senior; Blake Chance, quarterback, sophomore; Jer McAninch, defensive line, senior

Mid-Prairie— Jack Baker, defensive end, junior; Isaac Boucher, offensive line, junior; Josh Wallington, defensive line, sophomore

Davis County — Dayton Rysdam, offensive lineman, senior; Garl Norman, running back/linebacker/punter, senior

Central Lee — Tyler Hopp, running back, senior

Honorable Mention

Albia — Shawn Good, linebacker, junior; Dawson Hermsen, offense utility, senior, offense

Central Lee — Martin Vineyard, defensive line, senior; Gunther Johnson, Defensive Line, senior

Davis County — Caden Hill linebacker, junior; Kade Tharp linebacker, senior

Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fremont — Ryan Richmond, running back, senior; Ethan Olivas, kicker, sophomore

Mid-Prairie — Rex Peck, fullback, senior; Brad Tornow, quarterback, junior

Williamsburg — Jack Degen, tight end, senior; Treyton Deitrick, senior

Newspaper Article Archive of The Kalona News produced by SmallTownPapers, Inc.
Website © 2019. All content copyrighted. Copyright Information.     Terms Of Use.     Request Content Removal.